400 Years of Political Science in Uppsala

The Department of Government is situated around the historic Skytteanum building in the heart of the city, which is a part of Uppsala University’s Gamla torget (Old Square) Campus. The main entrance is located on Östra Ågatan 19. The department's teaching and research is supported by one hundred members of staff.

The Board

Equal Opportunities Commitee

Campus Gamla Torget

Contact us

Skytteanum a living house

Learn more about the history of the Department of Government in the department's new film. The film is ten minutes long and subtitled in Swedish and English.

Skytteanum a living house

A modern Political Science department building on a prominent historical heritage

Johan Skytte Lithography
Johan Skytte,

At the Department of Government in Uppsala we have been conducting research and educating students for 400 years. Today we provide a vibrant and internationally successful research environment with 60 faculty members and 40 PhD Students. Each year, the department awards the prestigious Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science to an outstanding international scholar within our discipline.

The department’s faculty consists of researchers covering all the major fields of political science. Our shared objective is to analyse the conditions for political power and the prerequisites for well functioning democratic institutions. Members of our faculty are frequently turned to by the media for expert analysis, asked to serve in public commissions, and engage in the wider society in a variety of ways. A degree from the Department of Government is a valuable commodity and many of our graduates have gone on to have successful careers in leading public and private sector positions.

Last modified: 2023-10-23